Blogging v. Twittering.

30 03 2010

Why is it I find it difficult to ‘blog’ but easy to ‘tweet’? I’ve been giving this some thought recently and I think I’ve found the answer.

and what is the use of a book," thought Alice, "without pictures or conversations?

and what is the use of a book," thought Alice, "without pictures or conversations? Photo : Alice In Wonderland by jackieleigh on Flickr

ALICE was beginning to get very tired of sitting by her sister on the bank and of having nothing to do: once or twice she had peeped into the book her sister was reading, but it had no pictures or conversations in it, “and what is the use of a book,” thought Alice, “without pictures or conversations?’

I have no confidence that I could write a good book, but I know that I am fully capable of having a good conversation. Conversations have more than one voice in them.
I find writing a blog post daunting because it commits you to an opinion, it attaches you to a stand point and – by the nature of the medium – invites people to comment about it. Draws a line in the sand to either agree or disagree.
Conversations are more collaborative than competitive, any notion put forward is mutable and may possibly be entirely reversed.

I believe in this enough to write it down. Maybe.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

